To Modchip or not to Modchip

Started by CantSpeakGerman, 05. Nov 2008, 06:45

previous topic - next topic
Go Down

CantSpeakGerman

I've been read a lot of the English postings on this site, and on the wiki, and think I may be close to taking the plunge and modding my box, but before I do I was wondering:

What is the likely outcome if you just add the modchip but don't change any of the files on the hard disk? Can you still use it as BT intended?  ???

I've got a feeling that only adding the modchip will still allow it to function as it was manufactured, as you are not changing any part of the OS, but I'm a newbie to all this so it would nice to get this confirmed, or indeed refuted, by someone more knowledgable.

I love what this project is trying to achieve turning boxes due for landfil into something far more useful so if anyone needs any pictures, or other info about my particular board, I would be glad to help. :)

=================================================================
BT customer: 1 working box under contract which I refuse to touch with a screwdriver.
                   1 spare DIT9719/05 box ready for modification.

mce2222

the modchip only disables the signature check of the WinCE Kernel file... thats all.
so it has absolutely no effect on the application itself.

it is not even detectable that there is a modchip installed...

warrmr

Im not sure what you would want to achieve by putting on the modchip and nto bothering to change any files on the disk..

The project can go some interesting ways if your good with code, I have been working with DarkNeo one one of these boxes and with some help we (I watched quite abit and threw a few ideas at him) so far we have got to the same point as IS0-Mick has got to (watching TV with a part EPG)

some interesting things if you wanted to try it you could probly code a C# Bit Torrent client and swap it for the Help menu ( who uses that anyways)